Googled myself. Yes, I did.

I was 25 years old, sitting on my couch on a Saturday night, watching a documentary on PBS about people who grew giant pumpkins -and interested in it- when I realized I was the most boring person I knew. I turned to my husband to tell him just how far I had fallen when I realized, he’s really pretty boring too. He’s the one sitting right next to me doing the same thing. Who does this on a Saturday night at our age?

Tired people. Tired people who are happy that their three children have fallen asleep and they have the evening to zone out in front of the television.

Google Search Coupon: 1 FREE Google Search

Photo CC – by Bram Van Damme

When I went to Google myself for my Digital Literacy class it was no surprise that nothing came up. When I scrolled way, way down on Google Images I found the profile picture I use for my Pinterest account and this blog.   That was it.

I tried my married name, maiden name, both with my middle name and here is what I found about myself:

I have lived in Colorado, Utah, and Wyoming. Not really a complete picture of who I am. The sites did not even have all the correct information.

I am on Pinterest, but that did not come up.

I have this blog, but that did not come up.

I am also on twitter, and that did not come up.

Maybe I am doing this whole Google searching thing wrong. Perhaps I should Google how to Google myself.

 . . .

If my future employers do any digging online I am not sure what they would think. If they found my Pinterest account they will get an amazing recipe for DIY laundry detergent and find the Honey-do Yard List I created for my husband. I have a teacher ideas page and stuff that makes me laugh. Nothing on there is inappropriate so I am not concerned about it.

If they found this blog they would know I like to read. Nothing too exciting here, folks.

Do I worry about this? Do I create an online presence to show future employers who I am in my personal life? Employers may think, “We can’t find her on facebook. She doesn’t really exist.”

I’m not going to worry about it. I know as a teacher I will be fingerprinted and background checked through my entire life. My employers will see that I am alive and well. The background check’s going to show that I lived in Colorado, Utah, and Wyoming. I bet their system will have my correct address.

2 thoughts on “Googled myself. Yes, I did.

  1. My husband and I do the same thing as you and your husband. We like to be home bodies. I was finding the same stuff as you when I googled myself. I had to break it down to my name and the city and state I live in now to get stuff to come. I didn’t see any images but my Facebook, twitter and even instagram account all came up. I also had an obituary for my husbands grandpa two years come up that I was named in. I really enjoyed this exercise. Maybe you should break it down by city if you didn’t already! Maybe it is a good thing nothing came up.

    Like

  2. Thanks Ashley! I did use the town I live in, and a couple of little things did come up. It’s been 10 years since this pumpkin documentary, and we continue to be home bodies. 🙂 It is nice to know there are others out there! (Both who are homebodies and who did not find scary things from the past come up!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

